May 27, 2023
Russian President Vladimir Putin

Russian President Vladimir Putin

©Mikhail Klimentyev / Kremlin Pool / Keystone Press Agency / Global Look Press

Russia approved the specifics of the legal status of residents of the Donetsk and Luhansk People’s Republics, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions, who decided not to become Russian citizens. They will be able to apply for a residence permit. The corresponding decree was signed by the head of state Vladimir Putin.

According to the document, residents of new regions who wanted to retain Ukrainian citizenship and did not take the oath of Russian citizenship will be considered foreigners. They will be able to apply for a residence permit, but will be required to undergo state fingerprint registration. About this on Thursday, April 27, writes publication “Politics Today”.

When obtaining a residence permit, documents drawn up in a language other than Russian must be submitted with a translation. The term for consideration of the application will be no more than 20 working days.

The Russian leader signed the laws on the entry of new territories into Russia on October 5, 2022. This happened after the referendums held in these regions from 23 to 27 September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *